de en

Department Committees


Laura Kowalewski

Department: Sculpture

Chairperson: Prof. Thomas Demand
Prof. Michael Beutler / Prof. Martin Boyce / Prof. Thomas Demand / Prof. Andreas Slominski / Prof. Pia Stadtbäumer
Students: Marie Siewierski
First meeting: 19 November 2020, 4 pm, digital

Department: Stage Design

Chairperson: Prof. Raimund Bauer
Prof. Raimund Bauer
Students: Naomi Sam

Department: Design

Chairperson: Prof. Jesko Fezer
Prof. Jesko Fezer / Pro. Konstantin Grcic / Prof. Glen Oliver Löw / Prof. Valentina Karga / Prof. Ralph Sommer
Students: Lara Molenda / Svenja Bredehöft
Coopted, without the right to vote: workshop supervisors
First meeting: 7 January 2021, 10 am, digital

Department: Film

Chairperson: Prof. Udo Engel
Prof. Robert Bramkamp / Prof. Pepe Danquart / Prof. Udo Engel / Prof. Angela Schanelec / Prof. Bernd Schoch
Students: Max Lequeux, Sandra Makhlouf
Coopted, without the right to vote: workshop supervisors
Dates of the meetings: General Assembly 16 November 2020, 6 pm, Aula Lerchenfeld

Department: Graphic Art/Typography/Photography

Chairperson: Prof. Heike Mutter
Deputy: Prof. Ingo Offermanns
Prof. Wigger Bierma / Prof. Adam Broomberg / Prof. Oliver Chanarin / Prof. Christoph Knoth / Prof. Heike Mutter / Prof. Ingo Offermanns / Prof. Konrad Renner
Students: Gihong (Kiki) Park
Coopted, without the right to vote: workshop supervisors
Dates of the meetings: 24 November 2020, 15 Uhr, 12 January 2021, 3 pm, 9 February 2021, 2 pm, digital

Department: Painting/Drawing

Chairperson: Prof. Werner Büttner
Deputy: Prof. Anselm Reyle
Prof. Abel Auer / Prof. Werner Büttner / Prof. Andrew Gilbert / Prof. Jutta Koether / Prof. Anselm Reyle / Prof. Jorinde Voigt
Students: Despoina Pagiota
11 December, 10 am, digital

Department: Theory and History

Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Astrid Mania
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Bettina Uppenkamp
Prof. Dr. Armen Avanessian, Prof. Dr. Clémentine Deliss, Prof. Martin Köttering, Prof. Dr. Hanne Loreck, Prof. Dr. Astrid Mania, Prof. Dr. Michaela Ott, Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Prof. Dr. Nora Sternfeld, Prof. Dr. Bettina Uppenkamp, Prof. Dr. Friedrich von Borries
Students: Anne Meerpohl
Dates of the meetings: 11 November 2020, 16 December 2020, 20 January 2021, 6.30 pm, digital or room 23 Wa

Department: Time-based Media

Chairperson: Prof. Michaela Melián
Prof. Angela Bulloch / Prof. Simon Denny / Prof. Jeanne Faust / Prof. Annika Larsson / Prof. Michaela Melián
Students: Emilia Keller
Coopted, without the right to vote: Ulf Freyhoff, Ute Janssen
Dates of the meetings: 4 November 2020, 4 pm, room 21, Audiolab

Public Information Day 2021

How do I become an art student? How does the application process work? Can I also study to become a teacher at the HFBK? These and other questions about studying art will be answered by professors, students and staff at the HFBK during the Public Information Day on February 13, 2021. Due to Corona, only online!

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

On the evening of November 4, the HFBK celebrated the opening of the academic year 2020/21 as well as the awarding of the Hiscox Art Prize in a livestream - offline with enough distance and yet together online.

Art defies Corona: Graduate Show 2020

With a two-month delay, the Graduate Show took place this year on the 19 and 20 September. More than 140 students showed their artistic graduation projects, from painting to sound installation.

Teaching Art Online at the HFBK

How the university brings together its artistic interdisciplinary study structure with digital formats and their possibilities.

HFBK Graduate Survey

Studying art - and what comes next? The clichéd images stand their ground: Those who have studied art either become taxi drivers, work in a bar or marry rich. But only very few people could really live from art – especially in times of global crises. The HFBK Hamburg wanted to know more about this and commissioned the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Hamburg to conduct a broad-based survey of its graduates from the last 15 years.

How political is Social Design?

Social Design, as its own claim is often formulated, wants to address social grievances and ideally change them. Therefore, it sees itself as critical of society – and at the same time optimizes the existing. So what is the political dimension of Social Design – is it a motor for change or does it contribute to stabilizing and normalizing existing injustices?

Annual Exhibition 2020 at the HFBK

The HFBK’s traditional annual exhibition („Jahresausstellung“) opens in February every year. For three days the students – from first-years to post-graduates – present a broad spectrum of their current work and projects from all the different departments. All classrooms, studios and halls in the building are used. Interested visitors are cordially invited to gain an impression of the art currently being created at the HFBK.