de en

Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes

This advancement programme belonging to the largest and oldest German scholarship institution offers awards in the area of art as well as in the areas of design, film, typography, graphic art and stage imagery.

The nomination procedure at the HFBK Hamburg:

Each study department (except Theory and History) can propose up to two candidates* at the end of October. At the beginning of November, the maximum of 14 candidates* present their work to the HFBK jury, which nominates up to 7 students (4 of the arts, 3 of the graphics/design/film departments) for the Studienstiftung; at the beginning of the new year, the Studienstiftung selects its final scholarship holders* on the basis of presentations.

Criteria for nomination:

  • Candidates* must not be older than 35 years at the time of application (deadline is 01.04.2020).
  • Candidates* must be at least in their 3rd (BA) semester at the time of nomination.
  • After WS 2019/20, candidates* must still have at least 2 semesters of standard period of study until completion of the Master's degree (i.e. only Bachelor's students and 1st Master's semester students are admitted).
  • Applicants* have the best chances between the 4th and 6th semester.
  • All EU citizens (including students from candidate countries) may be nominated for the scholarship
  • Proposals for the funding of second and supplementary studies are excluded.

Students in bursary programme


as of 2021
Belia Brückner, Zeitbezogene Medien

as of 2020
Raphaela Andrade Cordova, Bühnenraum
Laurel Chokoago, Zeitbezogene Medien

as of 2019
Vicente Hirmas Schmidt-Timmermann, Bildhauerei
Salka Tiziana Poeschel García-Courtoy, Film
Anas Saleh, Film
Szerafina Schiesser, Bildhauerei
Martha von Mechow, Film

as of 2018
Jamil Jalla, Zeitbezogene Medien
Tanita Olbrich, Film
Pia Schmikl, Zeitbezogene Medien
Jakob Spengemann, Bühnenraum

as of 2017
Noémi Barbaglia, Bildhauerei
Signe Raunkjær Holm, Zeitbezogene Medien

as of 2016
Leonie Rottmann, Zeitbezogene Medien
Laslo Strong, Grafik/Typografie/Fotografie

as of 2015
Daniel Hopp, Zeitbezogene Medien
Lulu Eliza MacDonald, Bildhauerei
Badrieh Wanli, Zeitbezogene Medien

as of 2014
Torben Wessel, Malerei/Zeichnen

as of 2013
Magnus Gburek, Design
Saskia Senge, Zeitbezogene Medien
Lisa Sperling, Film
Nuriye Tohermes, Design

as of 2011
Jens Franke, Zeitbezogene Medien
Marlene Denningmann, Film
Björn Last, Film

as of 2010
Nina Hollensteiner, Bildhauerei
Helena Wittmann, Film

as of 2009
Susanne Itzel, Freie Kunst

as of 2007
Lena Schmidt, Freie Kunst

as of 2006
Nora Klasing, Design


Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; photo: Maximilian Schwarzmann

School of No Consequences

Everyone is talking about consequences: The consequences of climate change, the Corona pandemic or digitalization. Friedrich von Borries (professor of design theory), on the other hand, is dedicated to consequence-free design. In “School of No Consequences. Exercises for a New Life” at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, he links collection objects with a "self-learning room" set up especially for the exhibition in such a way that a new perspective on "sustainability" emerges and supposedly universally valid ideas of a "proper life" are questioned.

Annual Exhibition 2021 at the HFBK

Annual exhibition a bit different: From February 12- 14, 2021 students at the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, together with their professors, had developed a variety of presentations on different communication channels. The formats ranged from streamed live performances to video programs, radio broadcasts, a telephone hotline, online conferences, and a web store for editions. In addition, isolated interventions could be discovered in the outdoor space of the HFBK and in the city.

Public Information Day 2021

How do I become an art student? How does the application process work? Can I also study to become a teacher at the HFBK? These and other questions about studying art were answered by professors, students and staff at the HFBK during the Public Information Day on February 13, 2021. In addition, there will be an appointment specifically for English-speaking prospective students on February 23 at 2 pm.

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

On the evening of November 4, the HFBK celebrated the opening of the academic year 2020/21 as well as the awarding of the Hiscox Art Prize in a livestream - offline with enough distance and yet together online.

photo: Tim Albrecht

Art defies Corona: Graduate Show 2020

With a two-month delay, the Graduate Show took place this year on the 19 and 20 September. More than 140 students showed their artistic graduation projects, from painting to sound installation.

Exhibition Transparencies with works by Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Organized by Prof. Verena Issel and Fabian Hesse; photo: Screenshot

Teaching Art Online at the HFBK

How the university brings together its artistic interdisciplinary study structure with digital formats and their possibilities.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; photo: Tim Albrecht

HFBK Graduate Survey

Studying art - and what comes next? The clichéd images stand their ground: Those who have studied art either become taxi drivers, work in a bar or marry rich. But only very few people could really live from art – especially in times of global crises. The HFBK Hamburg wanted to know more about this and commissioned the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Hamburg to conduct a broad-based survey of its graduates from the last 15 years.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; photo: MKG Hamburg

How political is Social Design?

Social Design, as its own claim is often formulated, wants to address social grievances and ideally change them. Therefore, it sees itself as critical of society – and at the same time optimizes the existing. So what is the political dimension of Social Design – is it a motor for change or does it contribute to stabilizing and normalizing existing injustices?