de en

Symposium: O Superman

A symposium on film, art, and politics to mark the departure from the HFBK of Michael Diers (Professor of Art History) and Wim Wenders (Professor of Narrative Film). The title of Laurie Anderson’s song from 1980 offers a self-ironic background for this shared retrospective and look forward to the future, created jointly with numerous international guests. At the same time, the symposium addresses questions concerning the task and role of art and art teaching in the current political situation.

Tuesday, 11. July 2017
17.00 h – Metropolis Kino, Kleine Theaterstraße 10
Film Screening »Heart of a Dog« (2015, 90 min)
by Laurie Anderson (Performance artist, musician, director, New York) with the artist
Welcome: Wim Wenders

19.00 h – Lerchenfeld 2, Raum 213 a/b
Exhibition opening: Chamber of Desires and Wonders
To mark Michael Diers’s departure, former and current work in progress in work students come together to give a joint presentation in the best tradition of this seminar’s annual exhibitions.
With: Eriks Apalais, Pascal Brinkmann, C.fA.D., Cordula Ditz, Marion Fink, Pachet Fulmen, Sho Hasegawa, Inga Kählke, Annika Kahrs, Hiroko Kameda, Henning Kles, Fritz Lehmann, Yi Li, Nicolas Lillo, Gerald Meißner, André Mulzer, Miwa Ogasawara, Katja Pilipenko, Patrick Sellmann (Farzar), Hua Tang, Hoda Tawakol, Daniel Vier, Xiyao Wang (Sissy), Sebastian Wiegand, Ting Zhang

19.30 h – Lerchenfeld 2, Aula
Welcome and opening
Martin Köttering (President HFBK Hamburg)

Looking forward (and back)
Hans Ulrich Obrist (Curator, artistic director, Serpentine Galleries, London) in conversation with Laurie Anderson, Wim Wenders and Michael Diers
Moderation: Antje Stahl (Art critic, Berlin)

Afterwards:
»Candy Sounds« by Maximilian Schuch

Wednesday, 12. July 2017

11.30 h – Lerchenfeld 2, Room 229
Film screening »Werner Nekes – Das Leben zwischen den Bildern« (2017, 87 min)
by Ulrike Pfeiffer, followed by a talk with the director
Moderation: Michael Diers

13.30 h
Break

14.30 h
Film and teaching – complexity, simple
How can one speak about a film? Is a canon required? In what kind of environment can interesting films be created? What proportion of the filmic work can be communicated? Is there a core of practical film learning?

A Panel with Barbara Albert (Director and co-founder of the production collective coop99, Professor of Directing Feature Films, Filmuniversität Konrad Wolf Potsdam Babelsberg), Thomas Heise (Documentary filmmaker, author and theatre director, Professor of Art and Film, Akademie der bildenden Künste Vienna), Michael Baute (Author, lecturer and media worker, Berlin) and Angela Schanelec (Director, Professor of Narrative Film, HFBK Hamburg)
Moderation: Luise Donschen (Director, Lecturer in the Film department, HFBK Hamburg)

16.30 h
Break

17.00 h
ART and/or Politics, or: How political may/must art be (today)?
In recent years, discussion on the task of art in the context of politics and society has once again become more acute. Whilst one side wishes to keep art strictly distant from political intervention, seeing it as a danger to art’s autonomy and quality, the opposing side argues that, in a time of great political upheaval, artists should actively take up a position. These debates have been conducted in a heated manner, without mutual understanding. This podium discussion will pursue the question of whether a third way exists. Or perhaps a way beyond this unfortunate “either/or” situation?

A panel with Monica Bonvicini (Artist, Professor of Performative Art and Sculpture, Akademie der bildenden Künste Vienna), Adam Broomberg (Artist, Professor of Photography, HFBK Hamburg), Thomas Demand (Artist, Professor of Sculpture, HFBK Hamburg), Peter Geimer (Professor of Modern and Contemporary Art History, Freie Universität Berlin, Director of Center for Advanced Studies BildEvidenz. History and Aesthetics), Philipp Ruch (Author, director, artistic director of the Center for Political Beauty, Berlin) and Beat Wyss (Professor of Science of Art and Media-Theory, Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe)
Moderation: Michael Diers

19.00 h
Break

19.30 h
Western Art: Unwillingly Mainstream
Keynote speech by Beat Wyss
Moderation: Antje Stahl (Art critic, Berlin)

21.00 h
Performance by Laurie Anderson
Moderation: Antje Stahl (Art critic, Berlin)

Afterwards – Lerchenfeld 2, Main hall
»The new black« Buffet and bar arranged by »art loves you project«

from 22.00 h – Lerchenfeld 2, Mensa-Vorraum
1 Night in Paname
Music and performance programme with Mikey Boy, Daniel Hopp, Utz Biesemann, Joey Bargeld, Tizian Baldinger, Marija Petrovic, Sophie Schweighart, Ronja Zschoche, Wassili Franco, Sprite Eyez, Cri$py C et al,
curated by Carina Lüschen

Idea + Concept: Michael Diers, Luise Donschen, Wim Wenders
Presentations in German and English, simultaneous interpretation into English

The symposium is funded by Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.
Technical support: avt plus media service

23 Fragen des Institutional Questionaire, grafisch umgesetzt von Ran Altamirano auf den Türgläsern der HFBK Hamburg zur Jahresausstellung 2021; photo: Charlotte Spiegelfeld

Diversity

Who speaks? Who paints which motif? Who is shown, who is not? Questions of identity politics play an important role in art and thus also at the HFBK Hamburg. In the current issue, the university's own Lerchenfeld magazine highlights university structures as well as student initiatives that deal with diversity and identity.

Grafik: Tim Ballaschke

Start of semester

After three semesters of hybrid teaching under pandemic conditions, we are finally about to start another semester of presence. We welcome all new students and teachers at the HFBK Hamburg and cordially invite you to the opening of the academic year 2020/21, which this year will be accompanied by a guest lecture by ruangrupa.

Graphic design: Sam Kim, picture in the background: Sofia Mascate, photo: Marie-Theres Böhmker

Graduate Show 2021: All Good Things Come to an End

From September 24 to 26, the more than 150 Bachelor's and Master's graduates of the class of 2020/21 will present their final projects as part of the Graduate Show at the HFBK Hamburg. We would like to thank all visitors and participants.

photo: Klaus Frahm

Summer Break

The HFBK Hamburg is in the lecture-free period, many students and teachers are on summer vacation, art institutions have summer break. This is a good opportunity to read and see a variety of things:

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; photo: Matthew Muir

Live und in Farbe: die ASA Open Studios im Juni 2021

Since 2010, the HFBK has organised the international exchange programme Art School Alliance. It enables HFBK students to spend a semester abroad at renowned partner universities and, vice versa, invites international art students to the HFBK. At the end of their stay in Hamburg, the students exhibit their work in the Open Studios in Karolinenstraße, which are now open again to the art-interested public.

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Unlearning: Wartenau Assemblies

The art education professors Nora Sternfeld and Anja Steidinger initiated the format "Wartenau Assemblies". It oscillates between art, education, research and activism. Complementing this open space for action, there is now a dedicated website that accompanies the discourses, conversations and events.

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; photo: Maximilian Schwarzmann

School of No Consequences

Everyone is talking about consequences: The consequences of climate change, the Corona pandemic or digitalization. Friedrich von Borries (professor of design theory), on the other hand, is dedicated to consequence-free design. In “School of No Consequences. Exercises for a New Life” at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, he links collection objects with a "self-learning room" set up especially for the exhibition in such a way that a new perspective on "sustainability" emerges and supposedly universally valid ideas of a "proper life" are questioned.

Annual Exhibition 2021 at the HFBK

Annual exhibition a bit different: From February 12- 14, 2021 students at the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, together with their professors, had developed a variety of presentations on different communication channels. The formats ranged from streamed live performances to video programs, radio broadcasts, a telephone hotline, online conferences, and a web store for editions. In addition, isolated interventions could be discovered in the outdoor space of the HFBK and in the city.

Public Information Day 2021

How do I become an art student? How does the application process work? Can I also study to become a teacher at the HFBK? These and other questions about studying art were answered by professors, students and staff at the HFBK during the Public Information Day on February 13, 2021. In addition, there will be an appointment specifically for English-speaking prospective students on February 23 at 2 pm.

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

On the evening of November 4, the HFBK celebrated the opening of the academic year 2020/21 as well as the awarding of the Hiscox Art Prize in a livestream - offline with enough distance and yet together online.

Exhibition Transparencies with works by Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Organized by Prof. Verena Issel and Fabian Hesse; photo: Screenshot

Teaching Art Online at the HFBK

How the university brings together its artistic interdisciplinary study structure with digital formats and their possibilities.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; photo: Tim Albrecht

HFBK Graduate Survey

Studying art - and what comes next? The clichéd images stand their ground: Those who have studied art either become taxi drivers, work in a bar or marry rich. But only very few people could really live from art – especially in times of global crises. The HFBK Hamburg wanted to know more about this and commissioned the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Hamburg to conduct a broad-based survey of its graduates from the last 15 years.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; photo: MKG Hamburg

How political is Social Design?

Social Design, as its own claim is often formulated, wants to address social grievances and ideally change them. Therefore, it sees itself as critical of society – and at the same time optimizes the existing. So what is the political dimension of Social Design – is it a motor for change or does it contribute to stabilizing and normalizing existing injustices?

de en

Symposium: O Superman



Ein Symposium in Sachen Film, Kunst und Politik zum HFBK-Abschied von Michael Diers (Professor für Kunstgeschichte) und Wim Wenders (Professor für Narrativen Film). Der Songtitel von Laurie Anderson aus dem Jahr 1980 bietet nicht nur den selbstironischen Hintergrund für die gemeinsame, mit zahlreichen Gästen gestaltete Rückschau. Gleichzeitig widmet sich das Symposium Fragen nach der Aufgabe und Rolle von Kunst sowie der Kunstlehre in der aktuellen politischen Situation.

Alle Beiträge des Symposiums wurden in dem begleitenden Tagungsband veröffentlicht.


Programm des Symposiums:

Dienstag, 11. Juli 2017
17.00 Uhr – Metropolis Kino, Kleine Theaterstraße 10
Filmvorführung »Heart of a Dog« (2015, 90 min) von Laurie Anderson (Performance-Künstlerin, Musikerin, Filmemacherin, New York) in Anwesenheit der Künstlerin
Begrüßung: Wim Wenders

19.00 Uhr – Lerchenfeld 2, Raum 213 a/b
Ausstellungseröffnung: Wunsch- und Wunderkammer
Anlässlich der Verabschiedung von Michael Diers versammeln sich ehemalige und aktuelle work in progress in work-Studierende zu einer gemeinsamen Präsentation, die ganz in der Tradition der Jahresausstellungen dieses Seminars steht.
Mit Eriks Apalais, Pascal Brinkmann, C.fA.D., Cordula Ditz, Marion Fink, Pachet Fulmen, Sho Hasegawa, Inga Kählke, Annika Kahrs, Hiroko Kameda, Henning Kles, Fritz Lehmann, Yi Li, Nicolas Lillo, Gerald Meißner, André Mulzer, Miwa Ogasawara, Katja Pilipenko, Patrick Sellmann (Farzar), Hua Tang, Hoda Tawakol, Daniel Vier, Xiyao Wang (Sissy), Sebastian Wiegand, Ting Zhang

19.30 Uhr – Lerchenfeld 2, Aula
Begrüßung und Eröffnung
Martin Köttering (Präsident HFBK Hamburg)

Blick (zurück) nach vorn
Hans Ulrich Obrist (Kurator, künstlerischer Leiter Serpentine Galleries, London) im Gespräch mit Laurie Anderson, Wim Wenders und Michael Diers
Einführung: Antje Stahl (freie Kunstkritikerin, Berlin)

Im Anschluss:
»Candy Sounds« von Maximilian Schuch

Mittwoch, 12. Juli 2017
11.30 Uhr – Lerchenfeld 2, Hörsaal (Raum 229)
Filmvorführung »Werner Nekes – Das Leben zwischen den Bildern« (2017, 87 min)
von Ulrike Pfeiffer und anschließendes Gespräch mit der Regisseurin
Moderation: Michael Diers

13.30 Uhr
Pause

14.30 Uhr
Film und Lehre - Komplexität, einfach
Wie kann man über einen Film sprechen? Braucht es einen Kanon? In welchem Umfeld können interessante Filme entstehen? Welcher Anteil der filmischen Arbeit ist vermittelbar? Gibt es einen Kern praktischer Filmlehre?

Ein Podium mit Barbara Albert (Regisseurin und Mitbegründerin des Produzentenkollektivs coop99, Professorin für Spielfilmregie, Filmuniversität Konrad Wolf in Potsdam-Babelsberg), Thomas Heise (Dokumentarfilmer, Autor und Theaterregisseur, Professor für Kunst und Film, Akademie für bildende Künste Wien), Michael Baute (Autor, Dozent und Medienarbeiter, Berlin) und Angela Schanelec (Regisseurin, Professorin für narrativen Film, HFBK Hamburg)
Moderation: Luise Donschen (Filmemacherin, künstlerische Mitarbeiterin im Studienschwerpunkt Film, HFBK Hamburg)

16.30 Uhr
Pause

17.00 Uhr
KUNST und/oder Politik, oder: Wie politisch darf/muss Kunst (heute) sein?
In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Diskussion um die Aufgabe der Kunst im Kontext von Politik und Gesellschaft einmal mehr verschärft. Während die eine Seite die Kunst von politischer Einmischung strikt fernhalten möchte, weil sie deren Autonomie und Qualität dadurch gefährdet sieht, plädiert die Gegenseite in einer Zeit starker politischer Umbrüche für aktive Stellungnahmen von Künstler*innen. Die Debatten werden kontrovers und ohne wechselseitiges Verständnis geführt. Das Podium geht der Frage nach, ob es vielleicht einen Mittel- oder Ausweg aus der misslichen Situation eines Entweder-oder gibt?

Ein Podium mit Monica Bonvicini (Künstlerin, Professorin für performative Kunst und Bildhauerei, Akademie der bildenden Künste, Wien), Adam Broomberg (Künstler, Professor für Fotografie, HFBK Hamburg), Thomas Demand (Künstler, Professor für Bildhauerei, HFBK Hamburg), Peter Geimer (Professor für Neuere und Neueste Kunstgeschichte, Freie Universität Berlin, Leiter der DFG-Kolleg-Forschergruppe »BildEvidenz. Geschichte und Ästhetik«), Philipp Ruch (Autor, Regisseur und künstlerischer Leiter des Zentrums für Politische Schönheit, Berlin) und Beat Wyss (Professor für Kunstwissenschaft und Medientheorie, Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe)
Moderation: Michael Diers

19.00 Uhr
Pause

19.30 Uhr
Westkunst: Leitkultur wider Willen
Festvortrag von Beat Wyss
Einführung: Antje Stahl

21.00 Uhr
Performance von Laurie Anderson

im Anschluss – Lerchenfeld 2, Aulavorhalle
»Das neue Schwarz« Buffet und Bar, konzipiert und arrangiert vom »art loves you project«

ab 22.00 Uhr – Lerchenfeld 2, Mensa-Vorraum
1 Night in Paname
Ein Musik- und Performanceprogramm mit Beiträgen von Mikey Boy, Daniel Hopp, Utz Biesemann, Joey Bargeld, Tizian Baldinger, Marija Petrovic, Sophie Schweighart, Ronja Zschoche, Wassili Franco, Sprite Eyez, Cri$py C u.a. zusammengestellt von Carina Lüschen

Idee + Konzept: Michael Diers, Luise Donschen, Wim Wenders
Vortragssprachen: Deutsch und Englisch, Simultanübersetzung ins Englische

Das Symposium wird gefördert von der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung.
Technische Unterstützung: avt plus media service

Annette Wehrmann, photography from the series Blumensprengungen, 1991-95; Foto: Ort des Gegen e.V.

Conference: Counter-Monuments and Para-Monuments

The international conference at HFBK Hamburg on December 2-4, 2021 – jointly conceived by Nora Sternfeld and Michaela Melián –, is dedicated to the history of artistic counter-monuments and forms of protest, discusses aesthetics of memory and historical manifestations in public space, and asks about para-monuments for the present.

23 Fragen des Institutional Questionaire, grafisch umgesetzt von Ran Altamirano auf den Türgläsern der HFBK Hamburg zur Jahresausstellung 2021; Foto: Charlotte Spiegelfeld

Diversity

Wer spricht? Wer malt welches Motiv? Wer wird gezeigt, wer nicht? Identitätspolitische Fragen spielen in der Kunst und damit auch an der HFBK Hamburg eine wichtige Rolle. Das hochschuleigene Lerchenfeld-Magazin beleuchtet in der aktuellen Ausgabe Hochschulstrukturen sowie Studierendeninitiativen, die sich mit Diversität und Identität befassen.

Grafik: Tim Ballaschke

Semesterstart

Nach drei Semestern Hybrid-Lehre unter Pandemiebedingungen steht nun endlich wieder ein Präsenz-Semester bevor. Wir begrüßen alle neuen Studierenden und Lehrenden an der HFBK Hamburg und laden herzlich zur Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 2020/21 ein, die in diesem Jahr von einem Gastvortrag von ruangrupa begleitet wird.

Grafik: Sam Kim, Bild im Hintergrund: Sofia Mascate, Foto: Marie-Theres Böhmker

Graduate Show 2021: All Good Things Come to an End

Vom 24. bis 26. September präsentierten die mehr als 150 Bachelor- und Master-Absolvent*innen des Jahrgangs 2020/21 ihre Abschlussarbeiten im Rahmen der Graduate Show in der HFBK Hamburg. Wir bedanken uns bei allen Besucher*innen und Beteiligten.

Foto: Klaus Frahm

Summer Break

Die HFBK Hamburg befindet sich in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit, viele Studierende und Lehrende sind im Sommerurlaub, Kunstinstitutionen haben Sommerpause. Eine gute Gelegenheit zum vielfältigen Nach-Lesen und -Sehen:

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; Foto: Matthew Muir

Live und in Farbe: die ASA Open Studios im Juni 2021

Seit 2010 organisiert die HFBK das internationale Austauschprogramm Art School Alliance. Es ermöglicht HFBK-Studierenden ein Auslandssemester an renommierten Partnerhochschulen und lädt vice versa internationale Kunststudierende an die HFBK ein. Zum Ende ihres Hamburg-Aufenthalts stellen die Studierenden in den Open Studios in der Karolinenstraße aus, die nun auch wieder für das kunstinteressierte Publikum geöffnet sind.

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Vermitteln und Verlernen: Wartenau Versammlungen

Die Kunstpädagogik Professorinnen Nora Sternfeld und Anja Steidinger haben das Format „Wartenau Versammlungen“ initiiert. Es oszilliert zwischen Kunst, Bildung, Forschung und Aktivismus. Ergänzend zu diesem offenen Handlungsraum gibt es nun auch eine eigene Website, die die Diskurse, Gespräche und Veranstaltungen begleitet.

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; Foto: Maximilian Schwarzmann

Schule der Folgenlosigkeit

Alle reden über Folgen: Die Folgen des Klimawandels, der Corona-Pandemie oder der Digitalisierung. Friedrich von Borries (Professor für Designtheorie) dagegen widmet sich der Folgenlosigkeit. In der "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg verknüpft er Sammlungsobjekte mit einem eigens für die Ausstellung eingerichteten „Selbstlernraum“ so, dass eine neue Perspektive auf „Nachhaltigkeit“ entsteht und vermeintlich allgemeingültige Vorstellungen eines „richtigen Lebens“ hinterfragt werden.

Jahresausstellung 2021 der HFBK Hamburg

Jahresausstellung einmal anders: Vom 12.-14. Februar 2021 hatten die Studierenden der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg dafür gemeinsam mit ihren Professor*innen eine Vielzahl von Präsentationsmöglichkeiten auf unterschiedlichen Kommunikationskanälen erschlossen. Die Formate reichten von gestreamten Live-Performances über Videoprogramme, Radiosendungen, eine Telefonhotline, Online-Konferenzen bis hin zu einem Webshop für Editionen. Darüber hinaus waren vereinzelte Interventionen im Außenraum der HFBK und in der Stadt zu entdecken.

Studieninformationstag 2021

Wie werde ich Kunststudent*in? Wie funktioniert das Bewerbungsverfahren? Kann ich an der HFBK auch auf Lehramt studieren? Diese und weitere Fragen rund um das Kunststudium beantworteten Professor*innen, Studierende und Mitarbeiter*innen der HFBK im Rahmen des Studieninformationstages am 13. Februar 2021. Zusätzlich findet am 23. Februar um 14 Uhr ein Termin speziell für englischsprachige Studieninteressierte statt.

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

Am Abend des 4. Novembers feierte die HFBK die Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 2020/21 sowie die Verleihung des Hiscox-Kunstpreises im Livestream – offline mit genug Abstand und dennoch gemeinsam online.

Ausstellung Transparencies mit Arbeiten von Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Betreut von Prof. Verena Issel und Fabian Hesse; Foto: Screenshot

Digitale Lehre an der HFBK

Wie die Hochschule die Besonderheiten der künstlerischen Lehre mit den Möglichkeiten des Digitalen verbindet.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; Foto: Tim Albrecht

Absolvent*innenstudie der HFBK

Kunst studieren – und was kommt danach? Die Klischeebilder halten sich standhaft: Wer Kunst studiert hat, wird entweder Taxifahrer, arbeitet in einer Bar oder heiratet reich. Aber wirklich von der Kunst leben könnten nur die wenigsten – erst Recht in Zeiten globaler Krisen. Die HFBK Hamburg wollte es genauer wissen und hat bei der Fakultät der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Hamburg eine breit angelegte Befragung ihrer Absolventinnen und Absolventen der letzten 15 Jahre in Auftrag gegeben.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; Foto: MKG Hamburg

Wie politisch ist Social Design?

Social Design, so der oft formulierte eigene Anspruch, will gesellschaftliche Missstände thematisieren und im Idealfall verändern. Deshalb versteht es sich als gesellschaftskritisch – und optimiert gleichzeitig das Bestehende. Was also ist die politische Dimension von Social Design – ist es Motor zur Veränderung oder trägt es zur Stabilisierung und Normalisierung bestehender Ungerechtigkeiten bei?