de en

Mentoring Program

Kommende Termine

Application deadline for 2020 HFBK graduates:

18 March 2021

Contact

Since 2020, the mentoring program at the HFBK Hamburg has been aimed at graduates who graduated last year and are now at the beginning of their work as freelance artists.

Within the framework of a six-month tandem, they meet selected mentors - also HFBK alumni - who are already successfully working in the art field and who use their experience and knowledge specifically to support the mentees. Together they work to expand the mentees' artistic positions as well as their professional field-related knowledge and skills, reflect on career planning strategies, and expand existing networks to include new contacts.On the other hand, the mentors deepen their advisory skills and expand their contacts to the current art, culture and science scene.

In 2021, we are offering 10 mentoring places. If you are interested in the mentoring program, please contact Swaantje Benson.


Experience reports from mentees of the 2020 program:

  • Linda Lebeck: "Die vordergründigste Erfahrung im Mentoring-Programm war für mich die Konfrontation mit den eigenen Überzeugungen und Unsicherheiten."

  • Jil Lahr: "Die Hilfestellung des Mentors jederzeit in Anspruch nehmen zu können, sei es für Arbeitsgespräche, Portfoliosichtung oder Projektbesprechungen, war für mich eine große Hilfe nach dem Studium, auch um die anfänglichen Zweifel angesichts der künstlerischen Selbstständigkeit zu überwinden."

  • Amanda Trygg: "We talked about different artists that we liked, about our process in the studio while making art, periods of self doubt and how to work through them, we talked about the art industry. (…) Talking with Stefan also changed the way I work. I need bigger reasons or motivations to make a painting, I have higher demands of it. I sketch more and read more before I start working. (…) I also visited him in Bremen at an opening for a group show he was in at Bremen Kunsthalle. There was a dinner organized by the Kunsthalle for all the participants and other people from the art world. This was a really nice experience to be a part of. Then we drove to Hamburg and visited one of his friend’s exhibition. (…) I think this experience gave me more confidence as an artist and I see more clearly what I want with my art, my identity as an artist."

  • Sarah Hablützel:" Ich bin sehr dankbar, dass ich Teil des Programms sein durfte, für mich kam dieses zum perfekten Zeitpunkt - es hat mich nach dem Studium in der ersten Phase der Verunsicherung aufgegriffen und hindurch getragen und mir am Beispiel der vielen tollen Mentor*Innen gezeigt, dass es Wege gibt und dass man diese gehen kann, dass es auch Widerstände gibt und diese auch dazu gehören. Das Tandem mit Annika hat mich also auf mentaler und praktischer Ebene gestärkt."

  • Clara Palmberger-Süße: „Ich beende das Mentoring in der Annahme, einen Kontakt gewonnen zu haben, auf den ich noch längere Zeit zurückkommen kann."

Mentor*innen 2021:

Katja Aufleger (Sculpture, MA, 2013)

Katja Aufleger's (*1983) video works, sculptures and installations combine aesthetic precision, subtle humor and critical observations of (social) contexts and systems. The crux of her works is usually located beyond what is depicted and is realized in a premonition or an imagination that unfolds in the course of perception. It is often triggered by the title of the work, such as "BANG!" for glass flacons whose chambers contain liquids that would cause an explosion if they came together.... (Text: Annette Hans)

Languages: German, Englisch
www.katjaaufleger.com

Than Hussein Clark (Time-based media, MA, 2019)

Than Hussein Clark (*1981) is a visual artist based in London and Glasgow. Clark is Editor at Large for Montez Press and the Artistic Director of The Directors Theatre Writers Theatre, and was a founding member of Villa Design Group. His work exploring the queer present has been shown in institutions across Europe, The United Kingdom, and The United States, and has been featured in Frieze, Artforum, Mousse, FlashArt, The New York Times, La Republica, The Economist, amongst other publications. Upcoming projects include the October Salon at the Belgrade Biennale and the British Art Show 9 touring the UK. He is represented by VI, VII in Oslo, Galerie Crèvecoeur in Paris/ Marseille and Galerie Karin Guenther, Hamburg.

Language: English
https://galerie-karin-guenther.de/artists/than-hussein-clark/images.html

Anna Grath (Sculpture, Diplom, 2014)

Anna Grath (*1983) studied free art at the HFBK Hamburg. One focus of her work is the offensive assembly and connection of functional objects and everyday materials. Like a gardener who breeds new crosses and varieties of extraordinary plants, Anna Grath combines these objects into expansive wall and room works. Principles of breeding, growth as well as education, restriction and dictation are reflected in her constructive and minimalist works.

Languages: German, English
www.annagrath.de

Philip Gaißer (Fotography, Diplom, 2007)

The mostly photographic works of Philip Gaisser (*1980) have something unfathomable about them, because their visual surfaces never offer direct paths to the content dimensions of the images. In his work, image and subject have a relationship to each other that is as loose and lighthearted and yet as close as that of a good glove with one hand. The images continuously shed their skin, pointing rather than depicting their subjects. One can finish quickly, or dig behind the clues laid out in the images. It is this embedding in an ecosystem of signs that is unfathomable; not hermetic, but simply never ending. (Text: Moritz Scheper)

Languages: German, English
www.philipgaisser.de

Annika Kahrs (Time-based media, Diplom, 2012)

In videos, installations and performances, Annika Kahrs (*1984) explores the edges of what we generally call music, asking about the cultural and social function of music, its communicative aspects and its formal nature. Sound as a vehicle of communication - either instrumental or vocal, between humans and animals, between actors on a stage or with the audience are thus often at the center of the works here. Familiar ways of communication, listening habits and behavior patterns are interrupted and have to be found anew. In the resulting shifts, ruptures or misunderstandings, the interactions between expectation and fulfillment, routine and failure in the changing - social, cultural, political - structures of coexistence are examined. Music as language functions as both an outlet and a metaphor.

Languages: German, English
www.annikakahrs.com

FORT - Alberta Niemann (Sculpture, Diplom, 2013)

Alberta Niemann (*1982) is part of the artist duo FORT, founded in 2008 with Jenny Kropp. FORT develops site-specific works in the fields of installation, video and performance. They work with everyday objects that are reconstructed, rearranged or alienated. Many of the created sceneries are reminiscent of abandoned film sets, of which only set pieces remain. In their installations, they play with the perception of the seemingly familiar, create moments of irritation, and thus allow ruptures in our everyday world to become visible. They trace longings and fears that are conveyed through various objects, their composition as well as staging, thus creating an atmosphere that oscillates between eerie and humorous. They frequently negotiate the relationship between presence and absence, whereby the hidden always plays a central role. (Text excerpt: Dr. Nadia Ismail)

Languages: German, English
https://www.sieshoeke.com/de/artists/fort

Lawrence Power (Painting/drawing, Diplom, 2011)

Lawrence Power (*1982) develops his painting from views of urban architecture or geometric everyday objects, such as tables, electricity boxes or lamps in his own studio. In a strongly reduced pictorial language, pictorial space is not created illusionistically, but rather in the juxtaposition of receding, partially transparent backgrounds and raised impasto color surfaces, lines pressed out of the tube and glued-on canvas remnants. In a collage-like manner, he incorporates various compositional elements into his painting as a sculptural surface extension, giving it a material-like directness. By means of subtle interventions and modular extensions, Powers' paintings in his spatial installations duplicate and comment on the surfaces of the elements that can be found and declare the space itself to be the canvas, creating a constant interplay with the two-dimensionality of the painting and the three-dimensionality of the spaces that refer to it.

Languages: German, English, French
www.lawrencepower.com

Sung Tieu (Sculpture, BA, 2013)

The artistic practice of Sung Tieu (*1987) encompasses a variety of media, including installation, sound, video, sculpture, photography, performance, and public interventions. Often based on historical-political studies, her work addresses issues of both national and transnational historiography. In doing so, she analyzes political, bureaucratic and social power relations as well as their historical preconditions, which she often translates into sculptural and sound installations. Last but not least, her work deals with life in the diaspora and the accompanying psychological effects.

Languages: German, English

www.sungtieu.com

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger (Painting/drawing, MA, 2019)

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger (Mexico, *1988) uses painting to explore ideas of hybridity, queer sexuality, and autonomy. Rejecting concerns about technology and virtuosity, Toranzo Jaeger's interest in painting is both conceptual and political. Her recent work draws on the technological advances of the automobile, a symbol, from a historical perspective, of everyday alienation, speed, and violence. In her painting, Toranzo Jaeger frequently breaks down the isolated panel painting, introducing queer feminine connotations techniques and motifs into a patriarchal sphere.

Languages: German, English, Spanish
www.galeriebarbaraweiss.de/artists/friede-torenzo-jaeger/

Stefan Vogel (Painting, Diplom, 2012)

Stefan Vogel (*1981) brings drawing, writing and forms into a dense unity. In often multi-part wall works and room-filling installations, he weaves organic and artificial into fragile webs of relationships. Something lies still - but restlessness crystallizes within. Chaos and order, like suffering and thriving, spring from the same possibility. Only time and logic change, again and again and anew. The specific material and color aesthetics of Vogel's works are based on the use of everyday objects, natural materials and building materials. Under rhythmic repetition of essential elements of form, color and substance, decay and chance inspire the anarchy of things and words. On one side proliferation, on the other structure, concentration and reduction. With the help of this complementary principle, Vogel works on a visual equivalent of complex relationships. (Text: Anka Ziefer)

Languages: German, English

www.jahnundjahn.com/de/artists/stefan-vogel/work

Jahresausstellung 2021: Studio Konzeptionelles Design (Prof. Ralph Sommer)

Jahresausstellung 2021: Studio Konzeptionelles Design (Prof. Ralph Sommer)

Annual Exhibition 2022 at the HFBK

After last year's digital edition, the 2022 annual exhibition at the HFBK Hamburg will once again take place with an audience. From 11-13 February, students from all departments will present their artistic work in the building at Lerchenfeld, Wartenau 15 and the newly opened Atelierhaus.

Annette Wehrmann, photography from the series Blumensprengungen, 1991-95; photo: Ort des Gegen e.V., VG-Bild Kunst Bonn

Annette Wehrmann, photography from the series Blumensprengungen, 1991-95; photo: Ort des Gegen e.V., VG-Bild Kunst Bonn

Conference: Counter-Monuments and Para-Monuments.

The international conference at HFBK Hamburg on December 2-4, 2021 – jointly conceived by Nora Sternfeld and Michaela Melián –, is dedicated to the history of artistic counter-monuments and forms of protest, discusses aesthetics of memory and historical manifestations in public space, and asks about para-monuments for the present.

23 Fragen des Institutional Questionaire, grafisch umgesetzt von Ran Altamirano auf den Türgläsern der HFBK Hamburg zur Jahresausstellung 2021; photo: Charlotte Spiegelfeld

23 Fragen des Institutional Questionaire, grafisch umgesetzt von Ran Altamirano auf den Türgläsern der HFBK Hamburg zur Jahresausstellung 2021; photo: Charlotte Spiegelfeld

Diversity

Who speaks? Who paints which motif? Who is shown, who is not? Questions of identity politics play an important role in art and thus also at the HFBK Hamburg. In the current issue, the university's own Lerchenfeld magazine highlights university structures as well as student initiatives that deal with diversity and identity.

Grafik: Tim Ballaschke

Grafik: Tim Ballaschke

Start of semester

After three semesters of hybrid teaching under pandemic conditions, we are finally about to start another semester of presence. We welcome all new students and teachers at the HFBK Hamburg and cordially invite you to the opening of the academic year 2020/21, which this year will be accompanied by a guest lecture by ruangrupa.

Graphic design: Sam Kim, picture in the background: Sofia Mascate, photo: Marie-Theres Böhmker

Graphic design: Sam Kim, picture in the background: Sofia Mascate, photo: Marie-Theres Böhmker

Graduate Show 2021: All Good Things Come to an End

From September 24 to 26, the more than 150 Bachelor's and Master's graduates of the class of 2020/21 will present their final projects as part of the Graduate Show at the HFBK Hamburg. We would like to thank all visitors and participants.

photo: Klaus Frahm

photo: Klaus Frahm

Summer Break

The HFBK Hamburg is in the lecture-free period, many students and teachers are on summer vacation, art institutions have summer break. This is a good opportunity to read and see a variety of things:

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; photo: Matthew Muir

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; photo: Matthew Muir

Live und in Farbe: die ASA Open Studios im Juni 2021

Since 2010, the HFBK has organised the international exchange programme Art School Alliance. It enables HFBK students to spend a semester abroad at renowned partner universities and, vice versa, invites international art students to the HFBK. At the end of their stay in Hamburg, the students exhibit their work in the Open Studios in Karolinenstraße, which are now open again to the art-interested public.

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Unlearning: Wartenau Assemblies

The art education professors Nora Sternfeld and Anja Steidinger initiated the format "Wartenau Assemblies". It oscillates between art, education, research and activism. Complementing this open space for action, there is now a dedicated website that accompanies the discourses, conversations and events.

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; photo: Maximilian Schwarzmann

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; photo: Maximilian Schwarzmann

School of No Consequences

Everyone is talking about consequences: The consequences of climate change, the Corona pandemic or digitalization. Friedrich von Borries (professor of design theory), on the other hand, is dedicated to consequence-free design. In “School of No Consequences. Exercises for a New Life” at the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, he links collection objects with a "self-learning room" set up especially for the exhibition in such a way that a new perspective on "sustainability" emerges and supposedly universally valid ideas of a "proper life" are questioned.

Annual Exhibition 2021 at the HFBK

Annual exhibition a bit different: From February 12- 14, 2021 students at the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, together with their professors, had developed a variety of presentations on different communication channels. The formats ranged from streamed live performances to video programs, radio broadcasts, a telephone hotline, online conferences, and a web store for editions. In addition, isolated interventions could be discovered in the outdoor space of the HFBK and in the city.

Public Information Day 2021

How do I become an art student? How does the application process work? Can I also study to become a teacher at the HFBK? These and other questions about studying art were answered by professors, students and staff at the HFBK during the Public Information Day on February 13, 2021. In addition, there will be an appointment specifically for English-speaking prospective students on February 23 at 2 pm.

Katja Pilipenko

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

On the evening of November 4, the HFBK celebrated the opening of the academic year 2020/21 as well as the awarding of the Hiscox Art Prize in a livestream - offline with enough distance and yet together online.

Exhibition Transparencies with works by Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Organized by Prof. Verena Issel and Fabian Hesse; photo: Screenshot

Exhibition Transparencies with works by Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Organized by Prof. Verena Issel and Fabian Hesse; photo: Screenshot

Teaching Art Online at the HFBK

How the university brings together its artistic interdisciplinary study structure with digital formats and their possibilities.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; photo: Tim Albrecht

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; photo: Tim Albrecht

HFBK Graduate Survey

Studying art - and what comes next? The clichéd images stand their ground: Those who have studied art either become taxi drivers, work in a bar or marry rich. But only very few people could really live from art – especially in times of global crises. The HFBK Hamburg wanted to know more about this and commissioned the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Hamburg to conduct a broad-based survey of its graduates from the last 15 years.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; photo: MKG Hamburg

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; photo: MKG Hamburg

How political is Social Design?

Social Design, as its own claim is often formulated, wants to address social grievances and ideally change them. Therefore, it sees itself as critical of society – and at the same time optimizes the existing. So what is the political dimension of Social Design – is it a motor for change or does it contribute to stabilizing and normalizing existing injustices?

de en

Mentoring-Programm

Kommende Termine

Bewerbungsschluss für HFBK-Absolvent*innen des Jahres 2020:
18. März 2021

Kontakt

Seit 2020 richtet sich das Mentoring-Programm der HFBK Hamburg an Absolvent*innen, die im zurückliegenden Jahr ihren Abschluss gemacht haben und nun am Beginn ihrer Arbeit als freischaffende Künstler*innen stehen.

Im Rahmen eines sechsmonatigen Tandems treffen sie auf ausgewählte Mentor*innen – ebenfalls HFBK-Alumni –, die bereits erfolgreich im Kunstfeld tätig sind und die ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Wissen gezielt zur Förderung der Mentees einsetzen. Gemeinsam arbeiten sie daran, die künstlerischen Positionen der Mentees wie auch ihre berufsfeldbezogenen Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen zu erweitern, Strategien der Karriereplanung zu reflektierten und bestehende Netzwerke um neue Kontakte zu erweitern. Auf der anderen Seite vertiefen die Mentor*innen ihre Beratungskompetenzen und erweitern ihre Kontakte zur aktuellen Kunst-, Kultur- und Wissenschaftsszene.

Im Jahr 2021 bieten wir 10 Mentoring-Plätze an. Wenn Sie Interesse am Mentoring-Programm haben, melden Sie sich gern bei Swaantje Benson.


Erfahrungsberichte von Mentees des Programms 2020:

  • Linda Lebeck: „Die vordergründigste Erfahrung im Mentoring-Programm war für mich die Konfrontation mit den eigenen Überzeugungen und Unsicherheiten."

  • Jil Lahr: „Die Hilfestellung des Mentors jederzeit in Anspruch nehmen zu können, sei es für Arbeitsgespräche, Portfoliosichtung oder Projektbesprechungen, war für mich eine große Hilfe nach dem Studium, auch um die anfänglichen Zweifel angesichts der künstlerischen Selbstständigkeit zu überwinden."

  • Amanda Trygg: "We talked about different artists that we liked, about our process in the studio while making art, periods of self doubt and how to work through them, we talked about the art industry. (…) Talking with Stefan also changed the way I work. I need bigger reasons or motivations to make a painting, I have higher demands of it. I sketch more and read more before I start working. (…) I also visited him in Bremen at an opening for a group show he was in at Bremen Kunsthalle. There was a dinner organized by the Kunsthalle for all the participants and other people from the art world. This was a really nice experience to be a part of. Then we drove to Hamburg and visited one of his friend’s exhibition. (…) I think this experience gave me more confidence as an artist and I see more clearly what I want with my art, my identity as an artist."

  • Sarah Hablützel: „Ich bin sehr dankbar, dass ich Teil des Programms sein durfte, für mich kam dieses zum perfekten Zeitpunkt - es hat mich nach dem Studium in der ersten Phase der Verunsicherung aufgegriffen und hindurch getragen und mir am Beispiel der vielen tollen Mentor*Innen gezeigt, dass es Wege gibt und dass man diese gehen kann, dass es auch Widerstände gibt und diese auch dazu gehören. Das Tandem mit Annika hat mich also auf mentaler und praktischer Ebene gestärkt."

  • Clara Palmberger-Süße: „Ich beende das Mentoring in der Annahme, einen Kontakt gewonnen zu haben, auf den ich noch längere Zeit zurückkommen kann."



Mentoring-Tandems 2020:

Katja Aufleger – Clara Palmberger-Süße

Anna Grath – Jil Lahr

Philip Gaißer – Linda Lebeck

Annika Kahrs – Sarah Hablützel

Stefan Vogel – Amanda Trygg

Mentor*innen 2021:

Katja Aufleger (Bildhauerei, MA, 2013)

Katja Auflegers (*1983) Videoarbeiten, Skulpturen und Installationen vereinen ästhetische Präzision, feinsinnigen Humor und kritische Beobachtungen von (gesellschaftlichen) Zusammenhängen und Systemen. Der springende Punkt ihrer Werke befindet sich in der Regel jenseits des Dargestellten und realisiert sich in einer Vorahnung oder einer sich im Zuge der Wahrnehmung entfaltenden Vorstellung. Angestoßen wird sie oftmals vom Werktitel, wie z.B. „BANG!“ für Glasflakons, deren Kammern Flüssigkeiten enthalten, die bei ihrem Zusammentreffen eine Explosion auslösen würden… (Text: Annette Hans)

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch
www.katjaaufleger.com

Than Hussein Clark (Zeitbezogene Medien, MA, 2019)

Than Hussein Clark (*1981) is a visual artist based in London and Glasgow. Clark is Editor at Large for Montez Press and the Artistic Director of The Directors Theatre Writers Theatre, and was a founding member of Villa Design Group. His work exploring the queer present has been shown in institutions across Europe, The United Kingdom, and The United States, and has been featured in Frieze, Artforum, Mousse, FlashArt, The New York Times, La Republica, The Economist, amongst other publications. Upcoming projects include the October Salon at the Belgrade Biennale and the British Art Show 9 touring the UK. He is represented by VI, VII in Oslo, Galerie Crèvecoeur in Paris/ Marseille and Galerie Karin Guenther, Hamburg.

Sprache: Englisch
https://galerie-karin-guenther.de/artists/than-hussein-clark/images.html

Anna Grath (Bildhauerei, Diplom, 2014)

Anna Grath (*1983) studierte Freie Kunst an der HFBK Hamburg. Ein Fokus ihrer Arbeiten liegt in der offensiven Montage und Verbindung von Funktionsgegenständen und Alltagsmaterialien. Anna Grath kombiniert wie eine Gärtnerin, die neue Kreuzungen und Sorten außergewöhnlicher Pflanzen züchtet, diese Objekte zu raumgreifenden Wand- und Raumarbeiten. Prinzipien der Zucht, des Wachstums sowie Erziehung, Restriktion und Diktat bilden sich in ihren konstruktiven und minimalistischen Arbeiten ab.

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch
www.annagrath.de

Philip Gaißer (Fotografie, Diplom, 2007)

Die meist fotografischen Arbeiten von Philip Gaisser (*1980) haben etwas Unergründliches, weil ihre visuellen Oberflächen niemals direkte Wege zu den inhaltlichen Dimensionen der Bilder offerieren. Bild und Thema haben bei ihm ein Verhältnis zueinander, das so lose und unbeschwert und doch so eng ist wie das eines guten Handschuhs mit einer Hand. Die Bilder häuten sich fortlaufend und zeigen vielmehr auf ihre Gegenstände, anstatt sie abzubilden. Man kann schnell fertig damit sein, oder man gräbt hinter den Hinweisen, die in den Bildern anlegt sind. Es ist diese Einbettung in ein Ökosystem aus Zeichen, die unergründlich sind; nicht hermetisch, sondern einfach nur nie zu Ende. (Text: Moritz Scheper)

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch
www.philipgaisser.de

Annika Kahrs (Zeitbezogene Medien, Diplom, 2012)

In Videos, Installationen und Performances forscht Annika Kahrs (*1984) an den Rändern dessen, was wir allgemein als Musik bezeichnen, fragt nach der kulturellen und sozialen Funktion von Musik, nach ihren kommunikativen Aspekten und ihrer formalen Beschaffenheit. Klang als Vehikel der Kommunikation – entweder instrumental oder vokal, zwischen Mensch und Tier, zwischen Akteuren auf einer Bühne oder mit dem Publikum befinden sich demnach hier oft im Zentrum der Arbeiten. Gewohnte Wege der Verständigung, Hörgewohnheiten und Verhaltensmuster werden unterbrochen und müssen neu gefunden werden. In den resultierenden Verschiebungen, Brüchen oder Missverständnissen werden die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Erwartung und Erfüllung, Routine und Scheitern in den veränderlichen – sozialen, kulturellen, politischen – Strukturen der Koexistenz untersucht. Musik als Sprache fungiert dabei als Ventil und Metapher zugleich.

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch
www.annikakahrs.com

FORT - Alberta Niemann (Bildhauerei, Diplom, 2013)

Alberta Niemann (*1982) ist Teil des Künstlerinnenduos FORT, das 2008 mit Jenny Kropp gegründet wurde. FORT entwickelt raumbezogene Arbeiten im Bereich Installation, Video und Performance. Dabei arbeiten sie mit alltäglichen Dingen, die nachgebaut, neu arrangiert oder verfremdet werden. Viele geschaffenen Szenerien erinnern an verlassene Filmsets, von denen nur noch Versatzstücke übriggeblieben sind. In ihren Installationen spielen sie mit der Wahrnehmung des scheinbar Bekannten, schaffen Momente der Irritation und lassen so Brüche in unserer Alltagswelt sichtbar werden. Sie spüren Sehnsüchten und Ängsten nach, die sich über verschiedene Objekte, ihre Zusammenstellung sowie Inszenierung vermitteln und erzeugen so eine zwischen unheimlich und humorvoll changierende Atmosphäre. Häufig verhandeln sie das Verhältnis von An- und Abwesenheit, wobei dem Verborgenen stets eine zentrale Rolle zukommt. (Textauszug: Dr. Nadia Ismail)

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch
https://www.sieshoeke.com/de/artists/fort

Lawrence Power (Malerei/Zeichnen, Diplom, 2011)

Ausgehend von Ansichten urbaner Architektur oder geometrischen Alltagsobjekten, wie z. Bsp. Tischen, Stromkästen oder Lampen im eigenen Atelier, entwickelt Lawrence Power (*1982) seine Malerei. In einer stark reduzierten Bildsprache entsteht Bildraum nicht illusionistisch, sondern im Gegeneinander zurücktretender, teilweise transparenter Hintergründe und erhabener Impasto-Farbflächen, aus der Tube gedrückter Linien und aufgeklebter Leinwandreste. Collagenartig bindet er unterschiedliche Kompositionselemente als plastische Oberflächenerweiterung in seine Malerei ein, die dadurch eine materialhafte Direktheit erhält. Mittels subtiler Eingriffe und modulartiger Erweiterungen vervielfältigen und kommentieren Powers Gemälde in seinen Rauminstallationen die Oberflächen der vorfindbaren Elemente und erklären den Raum selbst zur Leinwand, wodurch ein ständiges Wechselspiel mit der Zweidimensionalität der Malerei und der Dreidimensionalität der auf sie Bezug nehmenden Räumlichkeiten entsteht.

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch
www.lawrencepower.com

Sung Tieu (Bildhauerei, BA, 2013)

Die künstlerische Praxis von Sung Tieu (*1987) umfasst eine Vielzahl von Medien, darunter Installation, Sound, Video, Skulptur, Fotografie, Performance und öffentliche Interventionen. Häufig von historisch-politischen Studien ausgehend setzt sie sich in ihren Arbeiten sowohl mit Fragen der nationalen, als auch der transnationalen Geschichtsschreibung auseinander. Dabei analysiert sie die politischen, bürokratischen und gesellschaftlichen Machtverhältnisse sowie deren geschichtliche Voraussetzungen, welche sie oftmals in skulpturalen und Klanginstallationen umsetzt. Nicht zuletzt befasst sie sich in ihrem Werk mit dem Leben in der Diaspora und den damit einhergehenden psychologischen Auswirkungen.

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

www.sungtieu.com

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger (Malerei/Zeichnen, MA, 2019)

Frieda Toranzo Jaeger (Mexiko *1988) setzt Malerei ein, um Ideen von Hybridität, queerer Sexualität und Autonomie zu erforschen. Bedenken hinsichtlich Technik und Virtuosität ablehnend, ist Toranzo Jaegers Interesse an Malerei sowohl konzeptuell als auch politisch. Ihre jüngsten Arbeiten stützen sich auf die technologischen Fortschritte des Automobils, ein, aus historischer Sicht, Symbol für alltägliche Entfremdung, Geschwindigkeit und Gewalt. In ihrer Malerei bricht Toranzo Jaeger häufig das isolierte Tafelbild auf, und führt queer-weiblich konnotierte Techniken und Motive in eine patriarchal geprägte Sphäre ein.

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch
www.galeriebarbaraweiss.de/artists/friede-torenzo-jaeger/

Stefan Vogel (Malerei, Diplom, 2012)

Stefan Vogel (*1981) führt Zeichnen, Schreiben und Formen zu einer dichten Einheit. In oft mehrteiligen Wandarbeiten und raumfüllenden Installationen verwebt er Organisches und Künstliches zu fragilen Beziehungsgeflechten. Etwas liegt still – doch im Inneren kristallisiert sich Unruhe. Chaos und Ordnung, so wie Leid und Gedeihen, entspringen der gleichen Möglichkeit. Nur Zeit und Logik ändern sich, immer wieder und aufs Neue. Die spezifische Material- und Farbästhetik der Werke Vogels basiert auf der Verwendung von Alltagsobjekten, Naturmaterialien und Baustoffen. Unter rhythmischer Wiederholung wesentlicher Elemente von Form, Farbe und Substanz beflügeln Zerfall und Zufall die Anarchie der Dinge und Worte. Auf der einen Seite Wuchern, auf der anderen Seite Struktur, Konzentration und Reduktion. Mithilfe dieses komplementären Prinzips arbeitet Vogel an einem visuellen Äquivalent komplexer Verhältnisse. (Text: Anka Ziefer)

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch

www.jahnundjahn.com/de/artists/stefan-vogel/work

Annette Wehrmann, photography from the series Blumensprengungen, 1991-95; Foto: Ort des Gegen e.V.

Conference: Counter-Monuments and Para-Monuments

The international conference at HFBK Hamburg on December 2-4, 2021 – jointly conceived by Nora Sternfeld and Michaela Melián –, is dedicated to the history of artistic counter-monuments and forms of protest, discusses aesthetics of memory and historical manifestations in public space, and asks about para-monuments for the present.

23 Fragen des Institutional Questionaire, grafisch umgesetzt von Ran Altamirano auf den Türgläsern der HFBK Hamburg zur Jahresausstellung 2021; Foto: Charlotte Spiegelfeld

Diversity

Wer spricht? Wer malt welches Motiv? Wer wird gezeigt, wer nicht? Identitätspolitische Fragen spielen in der Kunst und damit auch an der HFBK Hamburg eine wichtige Rolle. Das hochschuleigene Lerchenfeld-Magazin beleuchtet in der aktuellen Ausgabe Hochschulstrukturen sowie Studierendeninitiativen, die sich mit Diversität und Identität befassen.

Grafik: Tim Ballaschke

Semesterstart

Nach drei Semestern Hybrid-Lehre unter Pandemiebedingungen steht nun endlich wieder ein Präsenz-Semester bevor. Wir begrüßen alle neuen Studierenden und Lehrenden an der HFBK Hamburg und laden herzlich zur Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 2020/21 ein, die in diesem Jahr von einem Gastvortrag von ruangrupa begleitet wird.

Grafik: Sam Kim, Bild im Hintergrund: Sofia Mascate, Foto: Marie-Theres Böhmker

Graduate Show 2021: All Good Things Come to an End

Vom 24. bis 26. September präsentierten die mehr als 150 Bachelor- und Master-Absolvent*innen des Jahrgangs 2020/21 ihre Abschlussarbeiten im Rahmen der Graduate Show in der HFBK Hamburg. Wir bedanken uns bei allen Besucher*innen und Beteiligten.

Foto: Klaus Frahm

Summer Break

Die HFBK Hamburg befindet sich in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit, viele Studierende und Lehrende sind im Sommerurlaub, Kunstinstitutionen haben Sommerpause. Eine gute Gelegenheit zum vielfältigen Nach-Lesen und -Sehen:

ASA Open Studio 2019, Karolinenstraße 2a, Haus 5; Foto: Matthew Muir

Live und in Farbe: die ASA Open Studios im Juni 2021

Seit 2010 organisiert die HFBK das internationale Austauschprogramm Art School Alliance. Es ermöglicht HFBK-Studierenden ein Auslandssemester an renommierten Partnerhochschulen und lädt vice versa internationale Kunststudierende an die HFBK ein. Zum Ende ihres Hamburg-Aufenthalts stellen die Studierenden in den Open Studios in der Karolinenstraße aus, die nun auch wieder für das kunstinteressierte Publikum geöffnet sind.

Studiengruppe Prof. Dr. Anja Steidinger, Was animiert uns?, 2021, Mediathek der HFBK Hamburg, Filmstill

Vermitteln und Verlernen: Wartenau Versammlungen

Die Kunstpädagogik Professorinnen Nora Sternfeld und Anja Steidinger haben das Format „Wartenau Versammlungen“ initiiert. Es oszilliert zwischen Kunst, Bildung, Forschung und Aktivismus. Ergänzend zu diesem offenen Handlungsraum gibt es nun auch eine eigene Website, die die Diskurse, Gespräche und Veranstaltungen begleitet.

Ausstellungsansicht "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; Foto: Maximilian Schwarzmann

Schule der Folgenlosigkeit

Alle reden über Folgen: Die Folgen des Klimawandels, der Corona-Pandemie oder der Digitalisierung. Friedrich von Borries (Professor für Designtheorie) dagegen widmet sich der Folgenlosigkeit. In der "Schule der Folgenlosigkeit. Übungen für ein anderes Leben" im Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg verknüpft er Sammlungsobjekte mit einem eigens für die Ausstellung eingerichteten „Selbstlernraum“ so, dass eine neue Perspektive auf „Nachhaltigkeit“ entsteht und vermeintlich allgemeingültige Vorstellungen eines „richtigen Lebens“ hinterfragt werden.

Jahresausstellung 2021 der HFBK Hamburg

Jahresausstellung einmal anders: Vom 12.-14. Februar 2021 hatten die Studierenden der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg dafür gemeinsam mit ihren Professor*innen eine Vielzahl von Präsentationsmöglichkeiten auf unterschiedlichen Kommunikationskanälen erschlossen. Die Formate reichten von gestreamten Live-Performances über Videoprogramme, Radiosendungen, eine Telefonhotline, Online-Konferenzen bis hin zu einem Webshop für Editionen. Darüber hinaus waren vereinzelte Interventionen im Außenraum der HFBK und in der Stadt zu entdecken.

Studieninformationstag 2021

Wie werde ich Kunststudent*in? Wie funktioniert das Bewerbungsverfahren? Kann ich an der HFBK auch auf Lehramt studieren? Diese und weitere Fragen rund um das Kunststudium beantworteten Professor*innen, Studierende und Mitarbeiter*innen der HFBK im Rahmen des Studieninformationstages am 13. Februar 2021. Zusätzlich findet am 23. Februar um 14 Uhr ein Termin speziell für englischsprachige Studieninteressierte statt.

Katja Pilipenko

Semestereröffnung und Hiscox-Preisverleihung 2020

Am Abend des 4. Novembers feierte die HFBK die Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 2020/21 sowie die Verleihung des Hiscox-Kunstpreises im Livestream – offline mit genug Abstand und dennoch gemeinsam online.

Ausstellung Transparencies mit Arbeiten von Elena Crijnen, Annika Faescke, Svenja Frank, Francis Kussatz, Anne Meerpohl, Elisa Nessler, Julia Nordholz, Florentine Pahl, Cristina Rüesch, Janka Schubert, Wiebke Schwarzhans, Rosa Thiemer, Lea van Hall. Betreut von Prof. Verena Issel und Fabian Hesse; Foto: Screenshot

Digitale Lehre an der HFBK

Wie die Hochschule die Besonderheiten der künstlerischen Lehre mit den Möglichkeiten des Digitalen verbindet.

Alltagsrealität oder Klischee?; Foto: Tim Albrecht

Absolvent*innenstudie der HFBK

Kunst studieren – und was kommt danach? Die Klischeebilder halten sich standhaft: Wer Kunst studiert hat, wird entweder Taxifahrer, arbeitet in einer Bar oder heiratet reich. Aber wirklich von der Kunst leben könnten nur die wenigsten – erst Recht in Zeiten globaler Krisen. Die HFBK Hamburg wollte es genauer wissen und hat bei der Fakultät der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften der Universität Hamburg eine breit angelegte Befragung ihrer Absolventinnen und Absolventen der letzten 15 Jahre in Auftrag gegeben.

Ausstellung Social Design, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Teilansicht; Foto: MKG Hamburg

Wie politisch ist Social Design?

Social Design, so der oft formulierte eigene Anspruch, will gesellschaftliche Missstände thematisieren und im Idealfall verändern. Deshalb versteht es sich als gesellschaftskritisch – und optimiert gleichzeitig das Bestehende. Was also ist die politische Dimension von Social Design – ist es Motor zur Veränderung oder trägt es zur Stabilisierung und Normalisierung bestehender Ungerechtigkeiten bei?